Jill Weaver Selected as 2022 Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) has announced that Jill Weaver of Valley View Schools is the 2022 NAHF A. Scott Crossfield Aerospace Educator of the Year.

Jill Weaver

The Crossfield Award, founded in 1986 by NAHF Enshrinee Scott Crossfield, is a juried annual competition to recognize a teacher for his or her exemplary use of aerospace in their classroom curricula. Crossfield, who was inducted in 1983, was a renowned test pilot, research pilot, and aerospace researcher. Among a myriad of aviation “firsts,” Crossfield’s testing of pressurized suits led to the development of the space suit.

The successful nomination was submitted by Colonel Joseph Kittinger, USAF (Ret), a 1994 Enshrinee of the NAHF. Col. Kittinger, a personal friend of Scott Crossfield, promised to carry on “Scotty’s Legacy” of recognizing the most impactful aerospace educators in the nation. Kittinger said, “Mrs. Weaver has dedicated her career to promoting STEM objectives to her students. Because of her advocacy, she has been awarded over $250,000 in grants to finance STEM programs for her students.”

The funding Weaver gains have been used to support various educational endeavors, from robotics to remote-controlled cars, drones, and 3D printers. She also earns appreciation from organizations and peers from across the country. Ben Richards, Superintendent of Valley View Local School, shares his support of Col. Kittinger’s nomination, “While I know that there are many deserving candidates for this recognition, Jill Weaver is one of the foremost science instructors that I’ve encountered in my 20+ years in education. Her passion for science, coupled with her unwavering commitment to enriching the lives of her students, make her truly deserving of this award.”

Over the last two decades, Weaver has earned numerous honors and awards. Included in the recognition are being named the Air Force Association (AFA) Teacher of the Year (2016), Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award (OESTA) (2017), Roy Junior Award for Excellence National Finalist (2019), Teacher of Influence Award (2021), and STEM Fellow for Montgomery County, OH ESC.

Jenny Michael, a former Valley View Board of Education member said, “Jill epitomizes what great hands-on education can do for student achievement. In fact, she pioneers STEM education in our district, and I see firsthand how much she is admired by her students.”

Weaver will receive her award on September 23, 2022, as part of the National Aviation Hall of Fame’s 58th Enshrinement events. Over 600 people are expected to attend two days of events in Dayton, including industry leaders and several returning Enshrinees, including former NASA astronauts Charlie Bolden, Eileen Collins, Bob Crippen, and Hoot Gibson, aviation visionary and test pilot Clay Lacy, general aviation titans Dale Klapmeier, and John & Martha King. NAHF candidates Rhea Seddon, Ed Bolen, and Connie Tobias will also join the celebration this year.

The ceremony, led by emcee CNN’s Pete Muntean, features the formal installment of the NAHF Enshrinee Classes of 2020 and 2022; (The late) Second Lieutenant Eugene J. Bullard, USAF., (The late) Dr. Maxime “Max” A. Faget, Ms. Joan Sullivan Garrett., (The late) Captain Richard “Dick” F. Gordon, USN, Colonel/Dr. Paul G. Kaminski, USAF (Ret). (The late) Willa Brown, (the late) Joe Clark, Dr. Margaret Hamilton, Dr. Story Musgrave, (the late) Geraldine “Jerrie” Mock.

The ten inductees will bring the total number of NAHF Enshrinees to 256.