Nebraska Aeronautics Recognized by NBAA for Decades of Accident-Free Operations

From left to right are Nebraska pilots, David Morris, Ronnie Mitchell and David Moll
From left to right are Nebraska pilots, David Morris, Ronnie Mitchell and David Moll.

The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) recently announced its 2018 Flying Safety Award recipients for the period ending Dec. 31, 2017. Among those members recognized was the State of Nebraska, Division of Aeronautics, recognized for 50 years of safe flying.

These awards serve as a testament to the high degree of professionalism and outstanding safety culture within participating companies. In total, 1,137 companies and individuals were recognized for accident/incident-free operations in 2017.

The Nebraska Division of Aeronautics was one of six member companies being honored for 50 years of safe operations. “All of the Division’s pilots attend professional flight training programs each year and are highly qualified with total hours in the air ranging from 10,500 to 14,000 hours, all accident free,” said Ronnie Mitchell, Aeronautics director. “Our Division is fortunate to have these types of pilots flying our state officials, and we thank the NBAA for recognizing our achievements.”

The 50 and 60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award recipients will be recognized during a luncheon held during NBAA’s Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (NBAA-BACE), Oct. 16-18 in Orlando, FL.

“The NBAA Flying Safety Awards have recognized member companies for their exceptional safety records for 65 years,” said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. “These member companies have proven to be industry leaders in safe operations by following safety best practices and achieving accident-free operations.”

The Flying Safety Awards program was launched in 1953 by the NBAA board of directors to promote a culture of safety in business aviation operations. NBAA is committed to making business aviation as safe as possible and encourages all members to participate in the awards program to enhance safe operations and gain recognition for their outstanding performance. Learn more about the NBAA Flying Safety Awards.

Kim Stevens, State Aviation Journal publisher and former director of the Nebraska Department of Aeronautics in the 1990s, echoed Mitchell’s assessment. “I flew with a number of NDA’s pilots over the years,” said Stevens. “They were experienced professional pilots, each dedicated to safety. I’m pleased that Nebraska is being recognized for this achievement.”