Ruane Elected Chair of Lee County Airport Board

Kevin Ruane

The Lee County Board of Port Commissioners elected Kevin Ruane as chair for 2021 during its first meeting on Jan. 21. Cecil L Pendergrass was elected as vice chair. The board, composed of the five Lee County Commissioners, meets bi-monthly as the Board of Port Commissioners to set policy and direct the operations of Southwest Florida International Airport and Page Field in Fort Myers, Fla. The other commissioners include Brian Hamman, Frank Mann and Ray Sandelli.     

Southwest Florida International Airport served more than 5.9 million passengers in 2020 and is one of the top 50 U.S. airports for passenger traffic. Page Field provides services to corporate, commercial and private aviators and accommodated more than 126,000 aircraft operations in 2020. No ad valorem (property) taxes are used for airport operation or construction and both airports are funded solely with revenue generated from their operations. For more information, please visit or Like Us on Facebook at