NBAA Welcomes Senate Confirmations of NTSB Members Graham, Chapman

The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) has welcomed the Senate confirmations of Michael Graham and Thomas Chapman to serve as members of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB). The Senate voted on the matter Dec. 19.

Graham most recently served as director, flight operations safety, security and standardization at Textron Aviation, and is a past member of the NBAA Safety Committee, leading its Single-Pilot Safety Working Group for the past six years. Additionally, he previously volunteered on the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing (ASIAS) program’s General Aviation Issues Analysis Team and as chair of the Air Charter Safety Foundation.

Graham began his career as a naval aviator, flying A-7s and F/A-18s, and he holds an airline transport pilot certificate with type ratings for six Citation models. He has logged more than 10,000 flight hours as an aircrew instructor, demonstration pilot and production flight test pilot.

Chapman most recently served as minority counsel to the Senate Commerce Subcommittee on Aviation and Space. Prior to that, he held government affairs roles for US Airways and Southwest Airlines, and also served as senior vice president for government and technical affairs for the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA). He is a graduate of the American University Washington College of Law and C.W. Post College in New York.

“NBAA welcomes the return of a full five-member board at the NTSB,” said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. “Given that safety is a core value for business aviation, we are pleased to see the confirmation of Michael Graham, and we look forward to working with he and Thomas Chapman in their new roles at the NTSB.”