13223-12 1  (1).jpg The National Aeronautic Association, in partnership with the Air Care Alliance, a nationwide league of humanitarian flying organizations, is proud to announce the recipients of the 2014 Public Benefit Flying Awards. (Photo – 2013 Award Recipients)
This year’s recipients are:

Distinguished Volunteer Pilot – JJ Quinn

A retired airline pilot who has logged 32,000 flight hours, JJ Quinn has devoted more than 20 years as a volunteer pilot flying to benefit the public in need on behalf of Patient Airlift Services, Pilots n Paws, Wounded Warriors, and Angel Flight. In addition to his volunteer flying he is a mentor to future aviators, organizing numerous flights for the Boy Scout program and EAA’s Young Eagles, and while serving as lead flight instructor at Whitehawk Aviation in Culpeper, Virginia.

Champion of Public Benefit Flying – Experimental Aircraft Association and its Young Eagles Program

Since 1990, volunteers for the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA), through its Young Eagles Program, have provided almost two million young people the opportunity to experience the thrill of flight, thus passing on to another generation their enthusiasm for aviation. Through its network of thousands of volunteer pilots across the United States, EAA and Young Eagles have facilitated Public Benefit Flying and educated youth about the opportunities aviation provides. For many it was the start of his or her journey to becoming a pilot, aircraft mechanic, air traffic controller, or a participant in many other aviation-related career possibilities.

“Volunteers in aviation and those who support them are the heart and soul of charitable aviation, and the work they perform is invaluable. They fly needy patients for care, inspire youth by providing the unique perspective of their world from above, swiftly transport relief supplies and personnel following disasters, support environmental preservation work, relocate animals to new environments, and perform a myriad of other tasks,” said Rol Murrow, President of the Air Care Alliance. “They all deserve to be honored with national recognition and these awards support that goal. When we honor one we honor all!”
Members of the 2014 PBF Selection Committee were Robert Blouin; Pete Bunce, President and CEO of the General Aviation Manufacturers Association; Lindy Kirkland, Executive Vice President of the Air Care Alliance; and Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA who served as Chairman of the Selection Committee.
The Public Benefit Flying Awards were created to honor volunteer pilots, other volunteers, and their organizations engaged in flying to help others, as well as those supporting such work. These prestigious awards will be presented at the NAA Fall Awards Dinner on Wednesday, November 5, 2014, at the Crystal Gateway Marriott in Arlington, Virginia.
In order to nominate someone for next year’s 2015 Public Benefit Flying Award, please see the complete information regarding the nominations procedures at www.naa.aero or www.aircarealliance.org.