U.S. Students Do Well in International Aviation Art Contest

Two U.S. students are among the nine winners of the 2012 International Aviation Art Contest for young people sanctioned by the National Aeronautic Association (NAA) and the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI) and managed by the National Association of State Aviation Officials’  Center for Aviation Research and Education. The art contest is designed to motivate and encourage young people of FAI member nations to become familiar with and participate in aeronautics, engineering, and science. The winners were chosen during FAI’s April meeting in Switzerland.

Lewis Hwang of Massachusetts received the FAI Gold medal in the Junior category (Ages 6-9).(Art work shown below). In the competition for (Ages 10-13) Karen Ahn of California received the FAI silver medal. (Shown at right).
More than 5,000 students from 28 states submitted their artwork for the U.S. National competition. The first, second and third place winners were then forwarded to NASAO Center headquarters in Washington for national judging. The three U.S. winners from each category were sent to Switzerland for the international judging.
Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA said the National Aeronautic Association is grateful to the thousands of students across the United States who contributed their art to the distinguished panel for review. "We congratulate the international winners on this great accomplishment. We are also extremely grateful to our partners at the NASAO Center, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, and many other people and organizations who collaborated on this most worthy education endeavor."

Category I (Junior): 6 to 9 year olds
First Place: Lewis Hwang, (USA) Massachusetts
Second Place: Uma Maheswari, (India)
Third Place: Anna Himich, Ukraine   
Category II (Intermediate): 10 to 13 year olds
First Place: Kyoko Sasaki, (Japan)
Second Place: Karen Ahn, (USA) California
Third Place: Tsunoyashi Kosuge,(Japan) 
Category III (Senior): 14 to 17 year olds
First Place: Dmitriy Yakovlev, (Ukraine)
Second Place: Jinsheng Shan, (People’s Republic of China)
Third Place: Miwako Kanada, (Japan)
The winners receive a FAI Gold, Silver or Bronze Medal presented to them by the FAI Member countries or by FAI President John Grubbstrom at an awards ceremony taking place during the FAI General Conference in October. To see all of the U.S. international entries go to www.nasao.org.