The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) announced that nine aviation and aerospace projects will compete for the prestigious 2013 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

For 102 years the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aviation and
aerospace achievement. Awarded annually “…for the greatest achievement in aeronautics
or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important
projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our nation’s history. Past
winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield,
Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient
of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program,
the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International
Space Station. The 2012 Collier was awarded to the National Aeronautics and Space
Administration and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for the Mars Curiosity Rover.

The nominees this year are:

 The Human-Powered Helicopter Teams Atlas and Gamera
 The NASA Deep Space Network
 The NASA Lunar Laser Communications Demonstration (LLCD) Project
 The Orbital Sciences Commercial Orbital Transportation Services (COTS)
Program Team
 The Pratt & Whitney PurePower® Geared Turbofan™ Engine
 The United States Navy P-8A Poseidon
 The Voyager Project Team
 The X-47B Unmanned Combat Air System Demonstration (UCAS-D) Team
 The X-51A

Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders
representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. Included on the Committee
are four former recipients of the Collier Trophy:
Admiral Richard Truly, USN (Ret) – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1981 and 1988
Peggy Gilligan – Collier Trophy Recipient (Commercial Aviation Safety Team), 2008
Dick Rutan – Collier Trophy Recipient, 1986
Larry James – Collier Trophy Recipient (Mars Curiosity Rover), 2012
The Selection Committee also includes:
Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group
The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association
Bob Blouin, Beechcraft
Ed Bolen, National Business Aviation Association
Charles Bures, Aero Club of New England
Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards and Events Committee
Brian Chase, Bell Helicopter
Dave Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems
Karen Gebhart, Helicopter Association International
Randy Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation
T.C. Jones, Northrop Grumman
Tim Keating, The Boeing Company
Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace
John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences
Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney
Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support
Stan O’Connor, GE Aviation
Ken Panos, AeroJet Rocketdyne
Sam Parks, Balloon Federation of America
Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America
Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin
Bob Stangarone, Embraer
Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins
Mark Van Tine, Jeppessen
Tony Velocci, Forbes

Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the process
and is a non-voting member of the Committee.

The Selection Committee will meet on Monday, March 17, in Arlington, Virginia,
and the winner will be announced the next day, March 18, at the NAA Spring Awards
Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 8, 2014, at
the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia. More information can be found at