Aeronautical Grants Announced for 10 Tennessee Airports

The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announces earlier federal and state aeronautics grants totaling $2.3 million have been approved for 10 Tennessee airports. Airports receiving grants include :

Cleveland (Bradley County) – Cleveland Regional Jetport

Jackson (Madison County) – McKellar-Sipes Regional Airport

Cleveland (Bradley County) – Hardwick Field

Lawrenceburg (Lawrence County) – Lawrenceburg/Lawrence County Airport

Fayetteville (Lincoln County) – Fayetteville Municipal Airport

Paris (Henry County) – Henry County Airport

Hohenwald (Lewis County) – John A. Baker Field

Sevierville (Sevier County) – Gatlinburg-Pigeon Forge Airport

Sewanee (Franklin County) – University of the South-Franklin County Airport

Tullahoma (Coffee County) – Tullahoma Regional Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division. The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee’s diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 142 heliports and 79 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.