Oklahoma Chapter of Ninety-Nines Accepting Nominations for Oklahoma Women in Aviation and Aerospace Awards

The Oklahoma Chapter of the 99’s is now accepting nominations for the outstanding achievements of Oklahoma Women in Aviation and Aerospace professions. The deadline for submission is September 30, 2019.

The Oklahoma Women in Aviation & Aerospace Day in partnership with the Oklahoma Chapter of Ninety-Nines will be honoring three Oklahoma women making important contributions to aviation and aerospace. The three award winners will be recognized at the Oklahoma Women in Aviation and Aerospace luncheon to be held November 1st inside the historical AAR hangar at Will Rogers World Airport.

Oklahoma Women in Aviation and Aerospace Day was enacted by the Oklahoma legislature in 2017 to honor Eula Pearl Carter Scott, along with all women pilots, and aviation and aerospace professionals. Scott was born December 9, 1915 in Marlow, and was an enrollee of the Chickasaw Nation. Pearl learned to fly at the age of 13 under legendary aviator Wiley Post. She became the youngest pilot in the United States with her first solo flight in 1929. 

Nominees are being accepted for the Pearl Carter Scott Oklahoma General Aviation Distinguished Service Award, the Geraldyn M. Cobb Oklahoma Military Aviation Distinguished Service Award and the Shannon Lucid Oklahoma Aerospace Distinguished Service Award.

For more information visit: Oklahoma 99s