Ohio Aviation Association Elects New Board Members, Officers and Presents Awards at Annual Conference

The Ohio Aviation Association (OAA) kicked-off its annual conference, themed “OAA 2020: A Flight Plan for Tomorrow!” on August 31, 2020. This year’s conference provided airports and businesses that support and serve airports, the opportunity to learn the latest trends in aviation, hear from Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) officials, and mingle with peers –virtually! Due to COVID-19, the OAA held its conference virtually.

“The 2020 Annual Conference provides great opportunities for professional development, sharing of ideas, and a bit of networking even during these tough times of limited physical interaction,” said Rick McQueen, newly elected President of the Board of Directors of the OAA. “Ohio has a strong group of airport professionals who help define the future of our State’s airport system and we came together to support one another.”

OAA’s Annual Business Meeting, held August 31, presented its slate of officers as well as nominations for new Board members. OAA is pleased to welcome three returning and two new directors-at-large:

Returning Board Members:

  • Justin Anderson, CM, Senior Airport Planner with the Columbus Regional Airport Authority
  • Brian Crosier, PE, Associate/Project Manager with Stantec Consultants
  • Matthew Schnelle, PE, Senior Aviation Engineer with RS&H Consultants
  • New Board Members:
  • Amanda McGee, Airport Manager with Wayne County Airport
  • Ronnie Powell, Vice President of Operations with Everest Fuel

Officers for the 2020-2021 year included:

  • President: Rick McQueen, Board Chairman of Canton Regional Chamber and recently retired President & CEO of Akron-Canton Airport
  • Vice President: Russ Kline, Operations Manager with the City of Dayton Department of Aviation
  • Treasurer: Gary Folden, Treasurer/Secretary with the Jefferson County Airpark
  • Secretary: Elton Cultice, Jr., Airport Manager with Urbana/Grimes Field

The association also honors individuals and organizations exemplifying the goals and objectives of the OAA by presenting each with an award. Those receiving honors this year included:

Aviation Student of the Year: Ohio’s aviation industry success depends upon the engagement of its future leaders. This award recognizes an aviation student member for demonstrating leadership, service, and dedication to advancing their education in an aviation trade. OAA was pleased to present a recent graduate of the Ohio State University, Mr. Rohan Sheth, with this award.

Airport Business of the Year: This award honors a business that makes a significant impact on their community and on Ohio airports’ success. OAA was pleased to present this award to Jess Howard Electric Company. The award was accepted by Jon Howard, President of Jess Howard Electric Co. Present to help accept the award was Scott Suchland, Project Manager/Estimator, and Corda Bowen. Project Manager, with Jess Howard Electric.

Legislator of the Year: This award honors the Ohio legislator that has gone above and beyond for our members’ needs. From introducing legislation aimed at improving airport operations to bringing attention to the State’s airports which serve as community economic engines. OAA was pleased to present this award to Representative Rick Perales, District 73. Representative Perales has been a long-time aviation supporter in the State of Ohio.

Airport of the Year: This award is an acknowledgment of an airport that makes great accomplishments in moving its airport program forward all while staying grounded in its community. They offer a medium for exchanging ideas, sharing information, and outstanding customer service. OAA is pleased to present this award to the Wayne County Airport. The award was accepted by Amanda McGee, Airport Manager, and Matthew Long, Assistant Airport Manager. Also present were County Commissioners Sue Smail and Becky Foster.

OAA honored each recipient with a short video. Head over to our Youtube page to watch these videos! Or find them on our homepage at ohioaviation.org.