Pilots Complete “Fly North Dakota Airports” Passport Program

Earlier this month seven pilots were presented with awards for participating in the “Fly North Dakota Airports” Passport Program. The passport program presents awards to pilots for flying to airports in the state as well as attending FAA Safety Seminars and visiting the two North Dakota Air Museums.

From left are Justin Weninger – ND Aviation Association, Jon Solberg, Dan O’Day, Preston Page, Steve Larson, and Kyle Wanner – ND Aeronautics Commission.

The prestigious gold award level was achieved by six pilots during 2022. These pilots received a leather flight jacket embroidered with the North Dakota Flying Legacy logo in addition to a polo shirt for the bronze award and a flight bag for the silver award. This prestigious accomplishment is achieved when visiting all 89 public use airports in North Dakota, visiting both air museums and attending at least 3 FAA Safety seminars. These pilots join the ninety-one others who have completed the passport program in previous years, making a total of Ninety-Seven total pilots who have achieved the gold award level to date.

The following is a list of the individuals achieving the gold level:

  • Kai Engstroem- Bismarck, ND
  • Jon Solberg – Bismarck, ND
  • Steve Larson – Burlington, ND
  • Dan O’day – Moorhead, MN
  • Preston Page – Bismarck, ND
  • Monica Puetz – Wyndmere, ND
From left are Justin Weninger – ND Aviation Association, Allan Goerger, and Kyle Wanner – ND Aeronautics Commission.

In addition to the Gold award winners, one pilot completed the Passport program a second time, achieving the Platinum award level. The Platinum award level rewards the pilot with a silk scarf. This is the first pilot to achieve the Platinum level.

The individual achieving the Platinum level:

  • Allan Goerger – Barney, ND

The awards presentation was conducted at the Basin Electric Hangar at the Bismarck Airport in Bismarck, North Dakota, in conjunction with the North Dakota Aviation Association, Fly-ND Conference. Presenting the awards were Kyle Wanner, Executive Director and Mike McHugh, Aviation Education Coordinator of the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission and Justin Weninger of the North Dakota Aviation Association. The program is sponsored by the North Dakota Department of Commerce’s Tourism Division in partnership with the Aeronautics Commission, the Airport Association of North Dakota, and the North Dakota Aviation Association.

For more stories and information about the passport program, please visit: https://aero.nd.gov/education-programs/passport-program/