Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame Releases Details of Honors Banquet

The Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame announced that Mario Rodrequez, Chief Executive Officer of the Indianapolis Airport Authority, will be the featured speaker at the Hall of Fame’s 2023 Honors Banquet on October 7, 2023, in Carmel, Indiana. Eight outstanding individuals will be inducted into the Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame at the banquet.

Under Mr. Rodriquez’s leadership, the Indianapolis International Airport has been named “Best Airport in North America” for 11 straight years. His achievements include service on the Presidential Transition Team and appointment three times to the U.S. Transportation Department Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee. He is on the board of the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, the Ivy Tech Community College Board of Trustees, and the Indiana Sports Corporation, and founder of the Hispanic Leadership Council.

The eight individuals to be inducted as the Class of 2023 are:  Maj. Gen. Boyd L. Ashcraft, USAFR (Ret.); Paul  Baer, first WWI ace; Thomas Q. Carney, Ph.D., Purdue University; Robert A. Dun-can, former FAA Examiner and Indianapolis Airport director; Dave Gevers,  EAA leader and aircraft de-signer; Matthew Hagens, pilot and aviation entrepreneur; Margaret Hamilton, NASA software engineer for Apollo missions; and Lewis A. Jackson, PhD, educator, Tuskegee trainer, and FAA Examiner.

The Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding individuals or companies who, through achievement, leadership, exceptional service, innovation, or entrepreneurial spirit, have made significant and enduring contributions to the history of aviation and aerospace in Indiana, the nation, or the World.