AAAE Elects Leaders for 2016-17 at 88th Annual Conference and Exposition

Carl Newman, A.A.E., CEO of the Jackson, MS Municipal Airport Authority, recently took office as Chair of the American Association of Airport Executives for 2016-2017. Founded in 1928, AAAE is the world’s largest professional organization representing the men and women who work at public-use commercial and general aviation airports. Other key appointments to the Association’s Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Policy Review Committee were also finalized during the 88th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition in Houston.

“AAAE has a long and rich history of dedicated service from outstanding volunteer leaders, and we are incredibly fortunate to have another talented group of airport executives step forward to devote their time, energy and intellect to help guide the Association in the busy year ahead,” AAAE President and CEO Todd Hauptli said. “On behalf of the AAAE team, I congratulate each of them on the recognition they have earned from their peers and extend our sincere appreciation for their continued commitment to our organization and to the airport profession.”

Newman was one of six Executive Committee members elected by the AAAE membership during the 88th Annual Conference, which was held May 15-18 and hosted by the Houston Airport System. Newman succeeds Jeff Mulder, A.A.E., Director of Airports at the Tulsa Airports Improvement Trust, who becomes First Past Chair. Second Past Chair is Randall D. Berg, A.A.E., Airport Director at King County International Airport.

Other Executive Committee members elected by the AAAE membership are First Vice Chair Scott A. Brockman, A.A.E., President and CEO of the Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority in Memphis, Tenn.; Second Vice Chair Jeanne Olivier, A.A.E., ACE, Aviation Assistant Director at the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; and Secretary/Treasurer Todd McNamee, A.A.E., Director of Airports at the Ventura County Department of Airports in Camarillo, Calif.

Members of the AAAE Board of Directors are Randall D. Berg, A.A.E.; Danette Bewley, A.A.E., Vice President of Operations and Projects and COO at Tucson International Airport; Scott A. Brockman, A.A.E.; Chris Browne, A.A.E., Vice President and Airport Manager at Washington Dulles International Airport; Kelly Campbell, A.A.E., Executive Director of Aviation at Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport; John Duval, A.A.E., ACE, National Aviation Director at Austin Commercial; Timothy Edwards, A.A.E., Executive Director at Harrisburg International Airport; Sara Freese, A.A.E., Director of Aviation at Rick Husband Amarillo International Airport; Mark Gale, A.A.E., CEO and Director of Aviation at Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport; Bruce Goetz, A.A.E., ACE, Director of Airside Operations at Denver International Airport; Jeff Gray, A.A.E., Director of Contracts at Southwest Florida International Airport; Don Green Jr., A.A.E., Director of Aviation at Abilene Regional Airport; Scott Hinderman, A.A.E., Executive Director of Airports at the Fort Wayne-Allen County Airport Authority; Rebecca Hupp, A.A.E., Airport Director at Boise Airport; Scott Malta, A.A.E., Airport Manager at Castle Airport; Todd McNamee, A.A.E.; Jeff Mulder, A.A.E.; Carl Newman, A.A.E.; Jeanne Olivier, A.A.E., ACE; Judi Olmstead, A.A.E., Assistant Director of Airports at Myrtle Beach International Airport; Michael Olson, A.A.E., Executive Director at Central Nebraska Regional Airport; John Parrott, A.A.E., Airport Manager at Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport; Wayne Pennell, A.A.E., COO at Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport; Mark Sapp, Senior Vice President of Business Development at AirIT; Al Stuart, A.A.E., Superintendent of Operations at Salt Lake City International Airport; and Edelana Van Marter, A.A.E., I.A.P., Director of Transportation, Commercial Development at the Houston Airport System.

Members of the Policy Review Committee are Iftikhar Ahmad, P.E., Director of Aviation at Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport; Bonnie Allin, A.A.E, President and CEO at the Tucson Airport Authority; Bill Barkhauer, A.A.E., Executive Director at Morristown Municipal Airport; Jim Bennett, A.A.E., Aviation Director at Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport; Thomas Bosco, Director of Aviation at the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Thella Bowens, President and CEO at the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority; Mark Brewer, A.A.E., Airport Director at Manchester-Boston Regional Airport; Phil Brown, A.A.E., Executive Director of the Greater Orlando Aviation Authority; Rochelle Cameron, CPA, CEO at Philadelphia International Airport; Bruce Carter, A.A.E., Director of Aviation at Quad City International Airport; Rick Crider, A.A.E., Executive Vice President, Strategic Initiatives/Airport at Port San Antonio; Al Denson, A.A.E., President and CEO at the Birmingham Airport Authority; Mario Diaz, Director of Aviation at the Houston Airport System; Kevin Dillon, A.A.E., Executive Director at Bradley International Airport; Timothy Doll, A.A.E., Airport Director at Eugene Airport; Sean Donohue, CEO at Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport; Jim Elwood, A.A.E., Airport Director at Jackson Hole Airport; Deborah Flint, CEO at Los Angeles World Airports; Gary Johnson, C.M., Airport Director at Stillwater Regional Airport; Kelly Johnson, A.A.E., Airport Director at Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport; Phillip Johnson, A.A.E., Deputy Executive Director at the Kent County Department of Aeronautics; Larry Krauter, A.A.E., AICP, CEO at Spokane International Airport; David Lanter, A.A.E., Director of Public Safety and Operations at Lexington Blue Grass Airport; Chad Makovsky, C.M., ACE, Assistant Aviation Director at Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport; Ron Mathieu, C.M., Executive Director at Bill and Hillary Clinton National Airport; Erin O’Donnell, Managing Deputy Commissioner at Chicago Midway International Airport; Robert Olislagers, A.A.E., Executive Director at Centennial Airport; Judi Olmstead, A.A.E.; Elaine Roberts, A.A.E., President and CEO at the Columbus Regional Airport Authority; Antonino Sapone Jr., A.A.E., Vice President of Airfield Operations at Pittsburgh International Airport; Richard Smith, C.M., Aviation Division Chief, Los Angeles County Aviation; Ricky Smith, Executive Director and CEO at Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport; Walter Strong Jr., A.A.E., Director at University of Oklahoma Max Westheimer Airport; Mark VanLoh, A.A.E., Director of Aviation at Kansas City International Airport; Rosemary Vassiliadis, Director of Aviation at Las Vegas-McCarran International Airport; and Rob Wigington, President and CEO at the Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority in Nashville, Tenn.

The 89th Annual AAAE Conference and Exposition will be held May 7-10, 2017, in Long Beach, Calif. and hosted by Long Beach Airport.