Call for Nominations For 2021 Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award

The Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award, honoring a leader in global aviation safety. The Award is scheduled to be presented during Flight Safety Foundation’s annual International Air Safety Summit (IASS).

Presented annually since 1956, the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award recognizes notable achievement in the field of civil or military aviation safety in method, design, invention, study or other improvement. The Award’s recipient is selected for a “significant individual or group effort contributing to improving aviation safety, with emphasis on original contributions,” and/or a “significant individual or group effort performed above and beyond normal responsibilities.”

Mechanics, engineers and others outside of top administrative or research positions should be especially considered. The contribution need not be recent, especially if the nominee has not received adequate recognition for their achievement. Nominations that were not selected as past winners may be resubmitted for consideration in subsequent years. Please note that self-nominations will not be considered.

The Award Board, composed of leaders in the field of aviation, meets each year to conduct a final review of nominees and selection of the current year’s recipient.

Please help us identify and honor this year’s most deserving recipient. Nominations, including a 1-to-2-page narrative, can be submitted via the Laura Taber Barbour Foundation website at

Nominations will be accepted until June 4th, 2021.

For more information, including a complete history of Award recipients, see