NASAO Announces 2023 Henry Ogrodzinski Scholarship Recipients

The National Association of State Aviation Officials (NASAO) announced the names of three recipients for the 2023 Henry Ogrodzinski (Henry O.) Scholarship. NASAO congratulates Benjamin Parham of Elizabeth City State University (Surf City, NC), Tanner Bowman of Purdue University (Trafalgar, IN), and John Laing of Purdue University (Milford, OH).

Henry Ogrodzinski
Photo by Kim Stevens

NASAO established the scholarship program in memory of Henry Ogrodzinski, who spent more than 17 years leading NASAO as its President & CEO from 1996 to 2013. Ogrodzinski dedicated his life to higher education and academic achievement in aviation and aerospace. The scholarship program resides under the NASAO Center for Aviation Research and Education, the non-profit arm of NASAO.

“The three individuals selected for this year’s scholarship share a passion for aviation similar to that of Henry O.,” said Mike McHugh, Chair of the NASAO Center for Aviation Research and Education and Aviation Education Coordinator of the North Dakota Aeronautics Commission. “The NASAO Center hopes that these scholarships will help the awardees achieve their professional goals and advance the industry through their future accomplishments.”

“The future of aviation depends on a well-educated workforce,” said Greg Pecoraro, NASAO President & CEO. “NASAO is proud to honor the memory of its longtime President Henry Ogrodinski by helping to ensure bright young people with a passion for aviation are able to help make that future.”

For more information on the scholarship and application process, please visit NASAO’s website.