Aero Club of New England Presents the 2018 Godfrey L. Cabot Award

The Aero Club of New England (ACONE) announced this year’s winner of the prestigious Godfrey L. Cabot Award. This award has been presented each year since 1952 to “individuals or teams who were the first in their field and who have changed the course of aviation and or history, as inventors of types of aircraft, propulsion systems, or significant aviation and space technology and, to those who have conducted significant “first flights” or pioneered significant new routes in flight or into space; or who were pioneers or innovators in aviation training or tactics.” Some previous recipients include Igor Sikorsky, Admiral Richard Byrd, Commander Alan Shepard, General James H. Doolittle, Steve Fossett, and Gene Krantz, just to name a few.

This year’s recipient will be James A Lovell, CAPT, USN (Ret). He well be receiving the award for his achievement’s Commanding Apollo 8, and as Commander aboard the ill-fated Apollo 13. Aboard which he was instrumental in his work with the team that saved the mission.

The presentation will be held at the Harvard Club in Boston Massachusetts on Friday June 15th. If you would like additional information, please click on the “events” tab at