Flagstaff Named 2009 Arizona “Airport of the Year”

Flagstaff Pulium Airport was the recipient of this year’s “Airport of the Year” award, sponsored annually by the Aeronautics Division of the Arizona Department of Transportation, (ADOT). Aeronautics Division Director, Barclay Dick, presented the award at the Arizona Airports Association’s, (AzAA) annual Spring Conference, coincidentally held in Flagstaff this year.

John Lauher, Airport Director, accepted the award on behalf of the City of Flagstaff. The selection criteria used by the Aeronautics Division consists of accomplishments in the areas of community relations, airport management, airport maintenance activities as well as innovative activities and programs implemented at the airport.


Conference sessions included an update by Brian Armstrong, Manager of the LAX ADO, Western Pacific Region on the FAA’s grants program, an overview of the TSA General Aviation Security, Large Aircraft Security Program by Neil Dusenberry, and an update on Arizona’s State Aviation Systems Plan by Pam Keidel-Adams of Wilbur Smith Associates.


One of the conference highlights was a luncheon presentation on SpaceShipOne by Dan Linehan, author of "SpaceShipOne: An Illustrated History."  (Photos provided by the Arizona Department of Transportation)





John Lauher, left accepts the "Airport of the Year" award from Barclay Dick, Director of the Aeronautics Division of the Arizona Department of Transportation.












Dan Linehan, author of "SpaceShipOne: An Illustrated History."








Brian Armstrong, FAA Western Pacific Region LAX ADO Manager addresses Arizona Airports Association attendees.